Skip to content

Allison Grayhurst

September 2, 2015

I Dive To Rise

 

I give it up – the racing dread, erasing
the good from my garden and the dawn from my eyes.
I give it up like a heavy stone that once tied my sailor’s bones
to the earth. I dive deep into the salty liquid,
healing as I let go of the weight,
the power, the need for control.
I give it up – the undone deeds of expectation,
the ability to swim or breathe or feed on blood and bread.
I’m done with planting and days of endurance.
I’m done with mouthing platitudes of hope and guilt
that shouldn’t have been mine to bear. I’m done with self-pity
and the wages of truth.
I give it up and dive deep into the watery belly
where no footprint has ever been. Sleeping is the same
as waking is the same as staring at the minnows
and piranhas head on – the same as growing gills and talking
without sound. I give it up and give to get
a way out of these decade-old barriers, a way away from
the quarter moon heart and the vices
I hear every day like corpses rising
among the vulture birds, voices that have hands
frantic, with no where to go . . .

 

 

 

Allison Grayhurst is a member of the League of Canadian Poets. She has over 600 poems published in more than 300 international journals and anthologies. Her book Somewhere Falling was published by Beach Holme Publishers in 1995. Since then she has published eleven other books of poetry and six collections with Edge Unlimited Publishing. Prior to the publication of Somewhere Falling she had a poetry book published, Common Dream, and four chapbooks published by The Plowman. Her poetry chapbook The River is Blind was published by Ottawa publisher above/ground press in December 2012. In 2014 her chapbook Surrogate Dharma was published by Kind of a Hurricane Press, Barometric Pressures Author Series in October 2014. More recently, she has a chapbook Currents pending publication this Fall with Pink.Girl.Ink. Press. She lives in Toronto with her family. She also sculpts, working with clay; www.allisongrayhurst.com

 

 


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

