Skip to content

Ned Rain

July 22, 2013

I Inhale You Like the Stars On a Cold Winter Night Seem Closer

 

When I first

the first time
I touched your back

I could not believe how soft you were
the rest of you full of steel and ink
sealing your mouth

your mouth sealed with thin steel
& by your own hand
I saw that

saw you paint with your own
blood
&  I
asked you if it hurt
&
you said

yeah!

but there my hand was
and the warm soft of
you
was incredible

I inhale you

I still have that empty
bottle
of your scent
the one you used
for all those years you
couldn’t bathe &
peed in bottles
&
I remember
your thin mustache
visible
blonde
in the sun
(it made you more feminine somehow)

that broken heart you gave me
as a warning

your heart
riven through
with steel

how could your back
– so soft and warm –
how could it be so soft?

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

